Well then …

I swear being a student and working full time is so unrealistic for how my future is going to look but what can I do ? It just bothers me hearing students who don’t work, their tuition paid (not by OSAP), and/or they don’t even make an effort in school try to complain to me .

No my dear , no silver spoons at this table . I work hard for my money, I do the best I can in school, and I take care of my family in any and every way that I can .

I’ll never forget having a convo with these girls in my program back in first year and we were talking about how much of a struggle it is to be in school at our age and talking about how “broke” we were . At that time in my life I thought my broke was the same as any other student and I thought we would be able to relate … Nope .
note to 17 year old self: do not discuss your finances with people !

Anyways they were talking about how broke they were and how they don’t know how they will make it , but one girl just said she was going to buy a pair of $300 jeans later that day … Girl say what ? Mind you , I was working part time in first year , my paychecks we’re not that much more than 300$ … What in the world are you blowing a whole paycheck on jeans for ?! Smh . The icing on the cake was when I settled with buying a slice of pizza for lunch and they bought the most expensive lunches … We are not the same . And it sucks that I learned it that way . My broke is no joke .

I guess just the point of this rant is , don’t compare my life to yours and don’t tell me how I should be able to handle my financial situation because you aren’t in my shoes .

Leave a Reply

